MRYC Foundation Masthead

The MRYC Foundation’s success is due to its Board of Directors and tens of volunteers, and to a cadre of loyal donors who give the funds that make the Success Stories here possible.  The Foundation is most grateful for your support.

2017 Donors

Clipper Ship Society: Gifts of $2500 and more

Lin & Steve Clineburg

The Foley Family

Mrs. Diana Mautz

P/C Marshall Patterson


Barquentine Society: Gifts of $1000 to $2499

Mr. Walter W. Buckley, Jr.

Mr. James F. Higgins

National Philanthropic Trust

Judy Hunter & Charlie Platt

The Rumsfeld Family Fund

Scott R. & Carol Ann Smallwood

Mr. Gordon L. Smith

George & Judy Weckel

The Yost Family


Schooner Society: Gifts of $500 to $999

The Christiansen Family

Constellation Energy

Pixel Print & Post

Dagmar D. P. Gipe

Miles River Yacht Club

Lynne & Larry Robinson

Vanguard Charitable

Scott & Tracy Wagner


Skipjack Society: Gifts of $250 to $499

Mary Byrnes Bollinger

Fidelity Charitable

Mr. Joseph & Mrs. Sharon Finizio

Mr. & Mrs. John Heckler

Caroline & Justin Hunter

Mid Eastern Shore Star Fleet

Mr. & Mrs. Warren R. Marton

Mr. & Mrs. Charles R. Miller

Mr. & Mrs. Maurice J. Montaldi

Mr. George Nilson

Kristen Greenaway & Lori Ramsey

Daniel & Marianne Spiegel

Mr. & Mrs. Enos T. Throop

Mr. & Mrs. Robert L.Voyles

Mr. Martin & Mrs. Alicia Weber


Log Canoe Society: Gifts of $100 to $249

Ms. Caterina Allen

Molly & Peirce Anderson

Mr. & Mrs. James Barker

Ernst & DeNyce Becker

Edwin Berk,

Paige Harrigan & Diana Berk

Mr. & Mrs. Marion W. Bevard

Ms. Kathy Brown

Mr. William Burrow

Mr. & Mrs. Byron

John & Roberta Carey

Will, Heather, Liam &Virginia Chapman

Mr. & Mrs. Rodney Coleman, III

Paul & Rita Connolly

George & Tellie Dixon

Mr. Peter and Mrs. Lee Elvart

Mr. Tod Engelskirchen & Ms. Anne Pilert

Norman & Marian Franck

Mr. & Mrs. David Frantz

Mr. & Mrs. Fred Freeman

Mr. & Mrs. Dennis F. Glackin

Mr. & Mrs. Samuel L. Gordon, Jr.

Dr. & Mrs. Michael Green

Mr. Web & Mrs. Erin Griebel

P/C & Mrs. Tim Hanlon

Commodore Glenn C. Higgins

Higgins & Spencer

Mr. William F. Hoffmeyer, Esq.

Susan & Jim Irwin

Mr. & Mrs. Edwin A. James

Mr. & Mrs. Merton M. Jarboe

Mrs. Sylvia Jones

Mrs. Margaret D. Keller

Mr. & Mrs. Richard J. Kelly

Mr. & Mrs. Richard H. Kimberly

Mr. Michael Kohn

Charlie & Kelli Kreter

The Langston Family

Ms. Molly Malkus

Drs. Charles & Sharon Manning

Mr. & Mrs. Stanley Martin

Mr. & Mrs. Jack Meyerhoff

Mr. & Mrs. William J. Morrison

Mr. & Mrs. Maurice E. Newnam

The Honorable and Mrs. John C. North II

Mr. & Mrs. David North

Mrs. Linn W. Ong

Ms. Julie Patterson & Mr. Rob Morgan

Mr. & Mrs. Laurence O. Pratt

Doug & Donna Reichert

Mr. J. Douglas Rollow & Ms. Marian Brown

Mr. James Ronayne & Ms. Morgan Dwyer

Hamilton Beach Employees

Ed, Leigh Ann & Edward Schaefer

Schwab Charitable Fund

Mr. & Mrs. John T. Shannahan

Barry & Elaine Simmerman

Ms. Ellen Sonders

Mr. & Mrs. Thomas E. Stevenson

Mr. Peter B. Stifel

Grayce B. Kerr Fund

Deanna & Daniel Van Skiver

Mrs. Antoinette Vojvoda

Mr. & Mrs. Ronald E. Weber

Mr. & Mrs. Philip J. Webster

Ms. Katrina Whittington

Dr. Stephen L. Wills


Gifts in honor of Mrs. Diana Mautz

Mr. & Mrs. Jack Meyerhoff


2017 Successes

Since its inaugural year in 2010, the MRYC Foundation has awarded over $310,000 in grants for equipment and scholarships to 23 youth-oriented Chesapeake Bay competitive sailing, rowing and swimming organizations, and other maritime-oriented educational programs operating throughout the Chesapeake Bay region. Grants have been given to the following non-profit organizations: Sultana Projects, Chesapeake Region Accessible Boating (CRAB), Freedom Rowers, YMCA of the Chesapeake, MRYC Junior Sail Camp, Girl Scouts of the Chesapeake Bay, Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum, MRYC Marlins Swim Team, Phillips Wharf Environmental Center, Easton High School Navy JROTC, Del-Mar-Va, Council of the Boy Scouts of America, Critchlow Adkins Children’s Center, Pickering Creek Audubon Center, St. Mary’s College of Maryland sailing team, Horn Point Laboratory, Miles River Sail and Power Squadron, St. Michaels Community Center, Annapolis Community Boating, Midshore Riverkeeper Conservancy, Dorchester County YMCA, Gunston School rowing crew, Aquatic Therapy Program at The Benedictine School for Exceptional Children, and Kent Island High School sailing team.


Gifts in Memory of P/C Donald Healy

Mr. John & Mrs. Gwendolyn Fink

P/C Marshall Patterson


Gifts in Memory of Mrs. Betty Roberts Carr

Ms. Caterina Allen

Mrs. Carol W. Armstrong-Grove

Ms. Kathy Brown

Mr. William Burrow

Mr. John & Mrs. Gwendolyn Fink

Mrs. Sylvia Jones

Mr. Michael Kohn

Hamilton Beach Employees

Mrs. Florence Scrupski

Mr. David Shofi

Ms. Ellen Sonders

Mrs. Antoinette Vojvoda


Gifts in memory of Mrs. Susan Wiswell

Mr. Donald Wiswell


Gifts in Memory of P/C Charles R. Wiley

Mrs. Carol W. Armstrong-Grove

Cutts & Case Inc

Norman & Marian Franck

Mrs. Judith F. Gaston

Mr. & Mrs. Thomas E. Hill

Mr. Ray and Mrs. Shirley Landon

Drs. Charles & Sharon Manning

Miles River Yacht Club

Mr. & Mrs. Charles R. Miller

Mr. & Mrs. Bowie Rose

Mr. Charles Smith

Mr. & Mrs. Ronald E. Weber